Margaret Hind Memorial Award Winner 2021

21st Oct 21

Environmental Health Australia is proud to announce that the recipient of the 2021 Margaret Hind Memorial Award is


Belinda represents the environmental health profession with passion, professionalism and dedication. Belinda has over 18 years local government experience, serving for eight years as a field-based Environmental Health Officer (EHO) and over ten years in leadership roles. She also has extensive academic experience including serving as a Senior Lecturer and Course Coordinator at the Queensland University of Technology (QUT) for over 7 years during which time she received two Vice Chancellor’s Performance Awards. Belinda is currently a Senior Lecturer and course coordinator for the Graduate Diploma of Environmental Health at the University of Tasmania and was instrumental in successfully achieving accreditation for this course. 

Belinda was a director on the board of Environmental Health Australia (Qld) Inc for 7 years, including two years as President. Belinda and a colleague formed a twinning program between Environmental Health Australia (EHA) and the Zambian Institute of Environmental Health (ZIEH), supported two Zambian delegation visits to Australia and jointly led an Australian delegation to Zambia. Whilst in Zambia, Belinda and her colleagues enjoyed learning about the local environmental health challenges and built capacity through delivering professional development courses.

Belinda is passionate about the EHO workforce and has been involved in various workforce committees, the development of cadet and graduate programs, the review and updating of the EHA course accreditation policy and criteria, and various other workforce projects. Belinda regularly presents at conferences and has developed several professional development courses for EHOs.

In 2016, Belinda was awarded the status of Fellow of Environmental Health Australia (QLD) for her ongoing contribution to the profession including the establishment of the EHA-ZIEH twinning program and food safety research.

A well deserved recipient of the Margaret Hind Memorial Award for 2021.

Congratulations Belinda!